The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

The TMC Library is a private, stand-alone and not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization independent from any one university or research institution. Unique to medical and research libraries across the country, it is the only library in the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries that reports to a separate governing board and draws its funding from several non-related academic, health and research institutions.

The Library is a distinctive consortium with authority vested in a Board of Directors comprised of appointed representatives from eight governing institutions of the TMC. An additional 13 supporting organizations are non-governing members of the Library.

The Library, as a free-standing member of the TMC, operates under bylaws and operating agreements to which the Governing Institutions are parties. The Board of Directors is the Library’s governing body and appoints and empowers the Executive Director with rights and responsibilities for the operations of the Library.

In addition, the Library is required for accreditation by the accrediting bodies which oversee the teaching curriculum of the educational institutions of the TMC.

Accrediting bodies are:

  • the Liaison Committee for Medical Education (LCME) of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the American Medical Association (AMA)
  • the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) for nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, optometry and allied health
  • the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)

Governing Organizations:

  • Baylor College of Medicine
  • Houston Academy of Medicine
  • Texas Medical Center
  • Texas Southern University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
  • Texas Woman’s University
  • University of Houston
  • University of Texas Health Science Center
  • University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Supporting Institutions:

  • Harris County Institute of Forensic Sciences
  • Harris Health System
  • Houston Community College System
  • Houston Department of Health and Human Services
  • LifeGift Organ Donation Center
  • Memorial Hermann Hospital System (including TIRR)
  • The Methodist Hospital
  • Prairie View A&M University College of Nursing
  • St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital
  • Shriners Hospitals for Children
  • Texas Children’s Hospital
  • Texas Heart Institute
  • The Texas Medical Center

Board of Directors
Michael Fordis, Jr., MD, Board Chair – Baylor College of Medicine
Lewis E. Foxhall, MD, Vice Chair – Houston Academy of Medicine
Sherilyn Bird, MLS, Board Secretary – Texas Woman’s University
Gregory Bernica – Houston Academy of Medicine
Patricia Butler, MD - UTHealth
Stephanie Fulton, MSIS - MD Anderson Cancer Center
Hiram F. Gilbert, PhD - Baylor College of Medicine
Anne S. Gill, Dr PH, MS - Baylor College of Medicine
Stephen B. Greenberg, MD – Baylor College of Medicine
Sunny E. Ohia, PhD - Texas Southern University
Robert C. Robbins, MD – Texas Medical Center Corp.
Dana C. Rooks, MLS - University of Houston
Dean F. Sittig, PhD - UTHealth
George Stancel, PhD, – UTHealth

The TMC Library
L. Maximilian Buja, MD, Executive Director