Elsevier Schedule Service Interruption
Thursday, July 30th, 2015 at
Due to scheduled maintenance, Elsevier platforms will be unavailable Saturday, August 1 starting at 5:00 pm for approximately 5 hours. This will affect access to: Science Direct, Scopus and Embase. Each platform will be displaying a warning to users of this scheduled downtime, and during downtime, there will be a message informing users of the […]
ESL Conversation Group
Thursday, July 16th, 2015 at
Learning English? Join us and practice speaking with others in a friendly environment. Open to all students, staff, and faculty in the TMC!!! Our group meets on Thursdays from 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm. Street level conference room.
TMC Library Hosts “Binding Wounds, Pushing Boundaries” Exhibit
Monday, July 13th, 2015 at
The TMC Library is hosting the National Library of Medicine exhibit “Binding Wounds, Pushing Boundaries: African Americans in Civil War Medicine.” This exhibit covers the overlooked participation and contributions of African Americans as nurses, surgeons and hospital workers during the American Civil War. The exhibit will be at the TMC Library from July 6-August 15, […]
Consult with a Librarian
Monday, July 6th, 2015 at
Do you want to attend a class but don’t see it listed on the library calendar? Do you need help with a research question but are not sure where to start? Make an appointment with a Librarian, one-on-one or in a small group to learn how to use the library resources. Call us at: 799.7161 […]
Library Holiday Hours
Monday, June 29th, 2015 at
The TMC Library will open from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm on Friday, July 3rd. The library will close Saturday, July 4th in observance of Independence Day. Regular hours resume Sunday, July 5th.
The TMC Library Will Close at 5:00 PM Tuesday, June 16
Tuesday, June 16th, 2015 at
The TMC Library will be closing this afternoon at 5:00 pm. The Library will reopen tomorrow at 9:00 am. Updates on library opening/closing times will be posted on the library website and on the information line at 713.795.4200
The TMC Library will Close at 8:00 PM Monday, June 15
Monday, June 15th, 2015 at
Due to potential flooding in the Houston area, the Library will close this evening at 8:00 pm. The library will reopen for service tomorrow Tuesday, June 16 at 9:00 am. Library opening/closing times will be posted on the library website and on the library information line: 713.795.4200
New Database Trial at the Library: Access Pediatrics
Monday, June 8th, 2015 at
Access Pediatrics is a clinical evidence database specifically designed for both practicing clinicians and students of pediatrics. It includes extensive preparatory material for board exams, clerkship content typically needed for a rotation in pediatrics, procedure and concept videos that dynamically illustrate anatomy and physiology, and an integrated pediatric drug database. On trial until July 31st, 2015 Take […]
Parking Closures June 6-7
Wednesday, June 3rd, 2015 at
Parking underneath the library on Garage 3 and the circle drive from E. Cullen will not be available Saturday, June 6 and Sunday, June 7 due to construction. Public parking will be available on Garage 4.
Library Closed Monday, May 25
Friday, May 22nd, 2015 at
The TMC Library will be closed Monday, May 25 in observance of Memorial Day. Regular hours resume Tuesday, May 26.
Date: Wednesday, August 5, 2015 Time: 2:00pm – 3:00pm Presenter: Jason Bengtson Location: Street Level Classroom
Date: Wednesday, August 19, 2015 Time: 2:00pm – 3:00pm Presenter: Jason Bengtson Location: Street Level Classroom
Date: Tuesday, August 25, 2015 Time: 6:30pm – 7:30pm Presenter: Emmanuel Onwuachi Location: Street Level Classroom
Learn the basics of PubMed, the National Library of Medicine’s search service, which provides access to over 24 million citations for biomedical literature. Emphasis will be on searching by keywords, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), and on using filters to retrieve relevant information. Options for saving your results will also be discussed.
If you are trying to search for a resource, click here.
The Database list consists of resources from journal and e-book collections to indexes, image banks, specialty-specific resources and government information. Browse or search by title, search using your own keywords, browse tags that appear in database descriptions, or investigate by the broader categories of format or access level.
Provider: 1000 Genomes Contents: Citations, datasets, links, open-source, search engine Access Level: Free Descriptions: 1000 Genomes: a deep catalog of human genetic variation "...is the first project to sequence the genomes of a large number of people, to provide a comprehensive resource on human genetic variation... The goal of the 1000 Genomes Project is to find most genetic variants that have frequencies of at least 1% in the populations studied." 1000 Genomes is an international endeavor, with participants from institutes, governments and universities world-wide. "DNA from the samples will be available for researchers to follow up with more detailed studies of variation in particular regions. The cell lines will allow researches to study cellular phenotypes such as gene expression, epigenetic patterns, and drug response. The extensive genotype data available on the samples, and the trio samples for some of the populations, will allow researchers to map regions of the genome computationally that affect the cellular phenotypes, and to study the heritability of these phenotypes." Keywords: bioinformatics, biomedical research, cell biology, data analysis, data repositories, epigenetics, genetics, genome, genomics, genotype and phenotype, microbiology, mutations, proteins, sequencing, software
Provider: AARP Contents: full text, websites Access Level: Free, Open Access Descriptions:The Country Profiles section of the AARP (American Association of Retired Persons) International website offers statistics on life expectancy and per capita healthcare expenditure worldwide. Keywords: aging, consumer health, open access
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare Contents: Abstracts, Citations, full text Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions:This collection offers a broad spectrum of disciplines: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Some full text from as far back as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 titles. Contains full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and 1,200 other serials, with indexing and abstracts covering in excess of 12,500 periodicals as well as about 700 reports, proceedings and short monographs. Keywords: multidisciplinary, periodicals
Provider: McGraw-Hill Contents: CME, E-books, full text, video Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions:Textbooks, procedural videos and animations, CORD cases, orthopedic and examination videos, drug monographs, calculators, decision rules, CME opportunities and more make up this comprehensive emergency medicine resource. Establish a "MyAccess" account while logged in to your TMC Library e-Resource Access account in order to use the Self-Assessment, Clerkship and Cases features. MyAccess will also allow you to receive alerts and save content for future reference. Mobile access is available to those with a MyAccess account and features device-responsive design. (Click here for instructions.)
Keywords: drugs, emergency medicine, infection, medical education, point-of-care, toxicology
Provider: McGraw-Hill Contents: E-books, full text, images, textbooks, video Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: AccessMedicine is an integrated database, updated daily, that draws on the more than 60 essential clinical and academic medical texts included, as well as a drug index, a differential diagnostic tool (called "Diagnosaurus") and an extensive library of images and videos. Also provided is a large selection of .pdf patient handouts. Note: The Self-Assessment and Cases features in AccessMedicine are accessible once you establish a personal login, which you must first do while logged in to your TMC Library remote access account. Once you have a personal "MyAccess" account, you will be able to use AccessMedicine from any location, whether you are logged in to your TMC Library account or not.
To access Mobile view log in with your MyAccess username and password. (See Mobile Instructions under Help at top right of the AccessMedicine home page.) Mobile devices supported: iPhone/iPhone 3G, BlackBerry Bold and Android. Keywords: clinical, diagnosis, drugs, evidence-based medicine, medical education, point-of-care
Provider: McGraw-Hill Contents: CME, E-books, full text, images, video Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: An integrated database of surgical texts and other resources, written and visual, that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers from trusted sources. Organized around the ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) mandate for a core curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context. This is a tool for the student, the educator, and the practitioner. Note: The Cases, Clerkship and Self-Assessment areas are fully accessible only after you have established an individual "MyAccess" account at the database site. This will also give you the ability to create alerts, save content for future reference, and set up your mobile access. Instructions for mobile access are located here. Patient education .pdf's are also provided in AccessSurgery. Keywords: clinical, medical education, surgery
Provider: National Agricultural Library (NAL) Contents: Abstracts, Bibliographic Records, Citations, index Access Level: Free Descriptions:AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library (NAL), and is a primary public source of global agricultural information. Covers all formats and periods, including printed works dating to the 15th century. Records describe resources for agriculture and its allied disciplines: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, even earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA does not contain the full text of the materials cited, but thousands of its records are linked to full text. Click Help for information on Requesting Materials. AGRICOLA is organized into two bibliographic data sets. The NAL OPAC (Online Public Access Catalog) contains citations to materials in the Library's collection, and some for items not held by NAL. The Article Citation Database includes many citations with abstracts, to articles (see Journals Indexed in AGRICOLA), book chapters, reports and reprints. Each data set can be searched separately, or the two can be searched together.
Provider: EBSCO -- TexShare Contents: Abstracts, Citations, index, links to full text Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: Compiled by the US National Agricultural Library, this bibliographic information resource consists of over 2 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including: plant and animal sciences; forestry; entomology; soil and water resources; agricultural economics; agricultural engineering; agricultural products; alternative farming practices; and food and nutrition. Keywords: agriculture, animals, nutrition
Provider: American Hospital Formulary Service/Stat!Ref Contents: drug monographs Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: A collection of drug monographs on single-drug entities available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug is contained in a single monograph. Monographs on principal ingredients also include descriptive information about drug combinations. There are general statements on groups of drugs whose activities and uses permit their discussion as a class. Information on older and prototype drugs is also provided. Keywords: drugs, formulary, pharmaceutical
Provider: Kenneth K. Kidd, Yale University / US National Science Foundation Contents: charts/graphs, datasets, statistics Access Level: Free Descriptions: "ALFRED's focus is on allele frequencies in diverse anthropologically defined populations. It is not a compendium of human DNA polymorphisms but of frequencies of selected polymorphisms with an emphasis on those that have been studied in multiple populations. All of the data in ALFRED are considered to be in the public domain and available for use in research and teaching." Keywords: allele, data-sharing, DNA, genetics, genotype and phenotype, research tools
Provider: Altmetrics Contents: full text, links, websites Access Level: Free, Open Access Descriptions: Altmetrics is interested in formulating a new kind of impact factor for developments in science, based in part on capturing and factoring in the scientific community's more rapidly available reactions to new papers and research as they are expressed in social media. At the organization's website, read its manifesto, follow links to investigate tools designed to gather data from online sources, and explore important papers that have sparked and furthered this movement. Provides links to websites and software like Crowdometer, PLOS Impact Explorer, ScienceCard, and ReaderMeter. Keywords: impact factor, peer review, research, scientific community, social media, software