The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 136 to 150 of 172 databases. (View all)





Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Provides full text, abstracts and indexing to approximately 400 relevant journals. Topics covered: emotional and behavioral characteristics; psychiatry & psychology; mental processes; anthropology; and observational and experimental methods. Full text coverage varies widely between publishers.
Keywords: , , , ,

PsycInfo

Provider: Ovid
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: PsycInfo provides citations with abstracts covering the peer-reviewed literature of psychology and psychiatry, as well as related material in the social, behavioral and health sciences. Provides selective coverage of approximately 2,500 periodicals and 3 million records from books, journals and other publications. Some of the literature cited and abstracted here date back to the early 1800's.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , ,

PubChem

Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information/National Library of Medicine
Contents: , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. It includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 12 million records; PCCompound contains more than 7 million unique structures; and PCBioAssay contains more than 200 bioassays.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , ,

PubMed

Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , , , , , ,
Descriptions: PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine and includes millions of citations from health and life sciences journals from the present back to the 1950s. It includes selective indexing from the Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index.   When accessed by TMC Library's authorized academic users , PubMed links to the full text of thousands of articles in subscribed journals. For all who access it, PubMed also links to thousands of open-access articles, either directly via publisher sites or via its PubMed Central repository.
Keywords: , , , , , , ,

PubMed Central

Provider: National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed, and is managed, by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

PubMed Health

Provider: National Library of Medicine/National Center for Biotechnology Information
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: PubMed Health, covering 2003 to the present, provides summaries and full texts of selected systematic reviews in one place. There is also information for consumers and clinicians based on those reviews. A search on PubMed Health runs simultaneously in PubMed. A filter is used to identify all the indexed scientific articles at the NLM that might be systematic reviews. This search includes articles from before 2003. Information partners selected by PubMed Health to contribute clinical effectiveness information are:

  • Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  • Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
  • The Cochrane Collaboration (CC)
  • German Institute for Quality and Efficiency in Health Care (IQWiG)
  • National Cancer Institute (NCI)
  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence guidelines program (NICE)
  • National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Health Technology Assessment Programme (NIHR HTA)
  • Oregon Health and Science University's Drug Effectiveness Review Project (DERP)
  • Department of Veterans Affairs' Evidence-based Synthesis Program from the Veterans Health Administration R&D (VA ESP)
England's Behind the Headlines service is from the National Health Service (NHS Choices). Also contains information from the A.D.A.M. Illustrated Medical Encyclopedia and Micromedex Consumer Medication Information.
Keywords: , , , , , ,

RefWorks

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , , ,
Descriptions: RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool that enables users to organize and create a personal database online, format bibliographies and manuscripts, and import references from a variety of databases using the already-created Import Filters. Users can establish links to RSS feeds and import data from those feeds directly. RefWorks automatically creates author, descriptor and periodical indexes when importing data. It can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual sign-up is required. For RefWorks tutorials in video format, click here. Training videos on Flow, the tool available from Summon, can also be found at the above link. If you are prompted for a Group Code while using RefWorks, you can find it in your original sign-up email from RefWorks; if you didn't save it, please contact us for that information. RefWorks is available in mobile format; see "RefMobile". NOTE: You can retain access to your RefWorks account indefinitely after graduation or departure from your TMC academic institution!
Keywords: , , ,

Religion and Philosophy Collection (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This collection covers the predominant world religions, biblical studies, archaeology, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, ethics, and history of philosophy. Contains more than 300 full text journals, most of them peer-reviewed. Indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Sage Research Methods Online

Provider: Sage Publications
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: SAGE Research Methods Online was created to aid scientists, faculty members and students in the process of setting up and completing a research project, from formulating the fundamental question, to choosing appropriate research and analysis methodologies and design elements, to the presentation and dissemination of results. Geared primarily to those working in the social and health sciences, SAGE Research Methods Online combines a wide range of SAGE content-- books, journals, references (including the 'Little Green" and "Little Blue" books series) case studies, and video resources. Explore methods and concepts, gain in-depth understanding of particular methods, identify new methods, conduct research, and communicate your findings with the help of this resource. The user can also create and share personal methods lists.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Salud en Espanol (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is an interface designed for the consumer of Spanish-language health care information, with convenient access to the same health and medical information found in the Consumer Health Complete database.
Keywords: ,

Science and Technology Collection (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This diverse collection contains more than 800 full text, mostly scholarly journals that cover a broad range of scientific fields: aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
Keywords: , , , ,

ScienceDirect

Provider: Elsevier
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Search gateway to the Elsevier online journals and ebooks/series. Titles accessible to TMC Library users are flanked by a green icon.
Keywords: , , , ,

ScienceDirect Open-Access Journals

Provider: Elsevier
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: From this point in ScienceDirect, the user can explore a complete list of open-access journals published by Elsevier, and in the same drop-down menu, a list of subscription journals containing open-access articles.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Scientific American Medicine (TexShare- Stat!Ref)

Provider: WebMD & The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Scientific American Medicine is a peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, covering 11 subspecialties of internal medicine and other key topics. Chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology and Women's Health. Includes CME opportunities.
Keywords: ,

Scopus

Provider: Elsevier
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: The SCOPUS database contains millions of records from 10,150 life and health sciences publications (including all journals contained in Medline and EmBase) and includes most other sciences and humanities-- coverage of 20,450 journal titles. SCOPUS also indexes the proceedings of 750 conferences.  Searching also pullsl in relevant Web resources, organized under a separate tab. Another tab separates patent results from patent offices in the US and worldwide. SCOPUS provides a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total cites divided by number of articles, and the percentage of non-cited articles. Affiliation searching is also provided. A free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a customizable personal profile for saving citation lists and tracking authors; a publication alert service; and direct export to RefWorks. For SCOPUS's tutorials, click here.  NOTE: Scopus may not support Safari and will cease to support IE7 in September 2014. From the website: "In order for our users to continue benefitting from Scopus’ new features and functionalities, we recommend that you upgrade your browser to IE 8 or higher or use Google Chrome or Firefox browsers."
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , ,