The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 151 to 165 of 174 databases. (View all)





Scientific American Medicine (TexShare- Stat!Ref)

Provider: WebMD & The American College of Physicians via STAT!Ref
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Scientific American Medicine is a peer-reviewed, evidence-based guide to clinical decision-making, covering 11 subspecialties of internal medicine and other key topics. Chapters on Clinical Essentials, Cardiovascular Medicine, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Hematology, Immunology/Allergy, Infectious Disease, Interdisciplinary Medicine, Metabolism, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Respiratory Medicine, Rheumatology and Women's Health. Includes CME opportunities.
Keywords: ,

Scopus

Provider: Elsevier
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: The SCOPUS database contains millions of records from 10,150 life and health sciences publications (including all journals contained in Medline and EmBase) and includes most other sciences and humanities-- coverage of 20,450 journal titles. SCOPUS also indexes the proceedings of 750 conferences.  Searching also pullsl in relevant Web resources, organized under a separate tab. Another tab separates patent results from patent offices in the US and worldwide. SCOPUS provides a Journal Analyzer tool that graphs journals, singly or for comparison, from 1996 to present, showing total citations, number of articles published, total cites divided by number of articles, and the percentage of non-cited articles. Affiliation searching is also provided. A free login for authorized users provides additional advantages: a customizable personal profile for saving citation lists and tracking authors; a publication alert service; and direct export to RefWorks. For SCOPUS's tutorials, click here.  NOTE: Scopus may not support Safari and will cease to support IE7 in September 2014. From the website: "In order for our users to continue benefitting from Scopus’ new features and functionalities, we recommend that you upgrade your browser to IE 8 or higher or use Google Chrome or Firefox browsers."
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , ,

SHERPA/RoMEO

Provider: University of Nottingham (UK)
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , , , , , , ,
Descriptions: SHERPA/RoMEO and its companion sites make up a useful, frequently-updated reference suite on open-access scholarly publishing and archiving rules for text and data. Specifically, RoMEO is a resource for looking up publishers' copyright policy information; SHERPA/FACT is the Funders' and Authors' Compliance Tool, and SHERPA/JULIET is the resource for information on research funders' (like NIH or National Science Foundation) open-access policies: what may or must be archived in an open-access repository, the stage of publication at which the work may be deposited, and guidelines for when the material must be made publicly available.
Keywords: , , , , , ,

Small Business Reference Center (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Small Business Reference Center is a resource for those starting or already operating a small business. Sections include: business basics, the Internet, areas of business one might need to understand (like accounting, selling or buying a business, intellectual property etc.) Provides startup kits and business plans, and industry information on dozens of small business types.
Keywords: ,

SpringerLink

Provider: Springer
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Home of the respected scientific, medical, social sciences and humanities e-books and journals published by Springer.
Keywords: , , ,

SpringerProtocols

Provider: Springer Science & Business Media LLC
Contents: , , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , , ,
Descriptions: SpringerProtocols is said to be the most comprehensive and trustworthy online database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. From the book series Methods in Molecular Biology and numerous other sources, this collection offers researchers access to decades of step-by-step protocols for use in the lab. With an emphasis on clarity, each protocol is organized in an easily-reproduced, recipe style. All protocols have been written by experts in the field, and are reviewed first by editors distinguished in the relevant specific subject areas, and then by Springer's own editorial staff. Contains some open-access protocols. Mobile version of website available.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Stat!Ref (TexSelect)

Provider: Teton Data Systems
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman's and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. This subscription for educational institutions, provided via the Texas State Library, includes the latest editions of more than eighty standard texts and other respected medical and nursing titles. Stat!Ref also provides a customizable Evidence Alerts feed. Create a My STAT!Ref “Preferences” account to receive these alerts at selectable regular intervals. To do this,

  • Access STAT!Ref
  • Go to “Preferences” (located just under the search box)
  • Sign up for preferences
  • Select disciplines and a time interval.
Stat!Ref provides Mobile Access for IPhone, IPad,Blackberry and Android. See http://www.statref.com/products/srMobile.html for details. You can activate mobile access via your "Preferences" account. Once in your individual account, click "Temporary Log-in Account," and follow directions. Please note that for security reasons, your mobile access must be renewed every 90 days. Once your account is established, you will not need to log in with TMC Library to use mobile Stat!Ref. For a video tutorial on setting up mobile access, see this link .
Keywords: , , , ,

Student Research Center Interface (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Student Research Center is an interface for young researchers. Students can search by keyword or topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by resource type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.  Search results can be filtered according to three age groups, ranging from elementary to 12th grade level.
Keywords: , ,

SUMSearch 2

Provider: University of Kansas School of Medicine, Wichita
Contents: , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: SUMSearch 2 simultaneously searches free Web resources: PubMed, DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) and National Guideline Clearinghouse for evidence-based healthcare information. It groups results by category: original studies, systematic reviews, and guidelines. Entries from the blog ClinDx are displayed, along with the New England Journal of Medicine's Image Challenge, CME cases, and Physician's First Watch medical news. Recent articles from ACP Journal Club are also displayed.
Keywords: ,

Symbolab: Scientific Equation Search

Provider: EqsQuest
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Click the specialized virtual keyboard with various symbol sets to type in various types of mathematical problems and search the web for results. Links to textbooks, forums, encyclopedic entries and lecture excerpts, as well as related search listings, help to illuminate problems in statistics, linear, quadratic and differential equations, etc.. A chemistry component is promised for the future.
Keywords: , , , ,

Tests in Print

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known  English-language, commercially available . TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Mobile access to Tests in Print is available here. This database is combined with Mental Measurements Yearbook. The two are searched on their own via this link, and are also set to be searched by default in tandem with the CINAHL database.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , ,

Texas Medical Association / Texas Medicine Magazine

Provider: Texas Medical Association
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: The Texas Medical Association provides publications here (including its membership journal, Texas Medicine) and presents timely information on public health, medico-legal issues, medical economics, science, medical education, and legislative affairs affecting Texas physicians and their patients. CME activity is also available at this site.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , ,

Texas Reference Center (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Includes more than 80 full-text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic and cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden, sports & leisure. Contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans like George H.W. Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Newspapers providing Texas and national news coverage are also included.
Keywords: , ,

TexShare Databases

Provider: TexShare Databases
Access Level: ,
Descriptions:

Traditional Chinese Medicine Database (TCM)

Provider: Bioinformatics and Drug Design Group, National University of Singapore
Contents: ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This database of traditional Chinese medicine includes the formulae and instructions for preparing treatments, and detailed breakdowns of chemical compounds and their molecular characteristics, with links to PubChem entries included for some. Search, or browse under one of three tabs: formula, herb or compound. Many entries are incomplete.
Keywords: , ,