The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 31 to 45 of 174 databases. (View all)





CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937-present)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the standard, essential comprehensive index to nursing articles, containing cover-to-cover current full text of more than 400 of the top journals it indexes. It covers alternative and occupational therapy as well. CINAHL also includes some e-books and short monographs, as well as providing more than half a million historical full-text articles dating back to 1937. CINAHL uses a controlled subject vocabulary for better search results. Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons, and Continuing Education Units augment the student experience. A tutorial for Advanced Search in CINAHL is available here.  Click here for mobile access.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , ,

CIRRIE – Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange

Provider: School of Public Health and Health Professions, SUNY at Buffalo
Contents: , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: CIRRIE provides two main resources: Database of International Rehabilitation Research, and International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation. The Database contains over 100,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present and includes citations drawn from about 4,700 journals. Searches can be conducted in Spanish and French as well as English. Search by title, author, subject or journal. Quick Search mode also provides a direct link to the comparable U.S. database, REHABDATA. Search results include links to free full text where available. Of particular interest is a monograph series, The Rehabilitation Provider's Guide to Cultures of the Foreign-Born.
Keywords: , ,

ClinicalKey

Provider: Elsevier
Contents: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Clinical Key provides access to: approximately 600 Elsevier medical journals (154 of which are unique to Clinical Key), 1,000+ medical reference books, more than 17,000 medical and surgical videos, 300+ Procedures Consult videos and articles, over 2.2 million images, Gold Standard drug monographs, and 50+ Clinics of North America. From the publishers: “Clinical Key is a clinical insight engine that addresses the key [information] requirements of physicians, medical librarians and health professionals. It is comprehensive, trustworthy and fast. Clinical Key draws answers from Elsevier’s vast online portfolio covering every medical and surgical specialty.” Please Note:  Access to PDFs of ebooks requires users to log in with a personal Clinical Key login, which needs to be created at the Clinical Key site.
Keywords: , , , ,

Cochrane Library

Provider: John Wiley & Sons
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. * Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews * Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials * Cochrane Methodology Register * Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects * Health Technology Assessment Database * NHS Economic Evaluation Database * About The Cochrane Collaboration
Keywords: , , , , , ,

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

Provider: Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing step by step, peer-reviewed research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Included is an Alphabetical List of Recipes, listing materials needed for each protocol.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Compilation of Presidential Documents

Provider: National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: The Compilation of Presidential Documents is a collection of the Weekly and Daily Compilations of Presidential Documents, which consist of materials released by the White House Press Secretary, including speeches, news conferences, weekly addresses, executive orders, statements, nominations, proclamations, informal remarks and more. Contains documents from 1993- present.
Keywords: , , , ,

Computer Source (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Provides latest information and current trends in high technology; offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. This database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Keywords: , , , , ,

ConsultGeriRN.org

Provider: Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing,is the evidence-based geriatric clinical nursing website of The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, at New York University's College of Nursing. Endorsed by the National Gerontological Nursing Association (NGNA), the American Association for Long Term Care Nursing (AALTCN), The National Association Directors of Nursing Administration in Long Term Care (NADONA), and others. New York University College of Nursing
Contents: , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This is a rich collection of evidence-based geriatric clinical nursing resources provided by The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing at New York University College of Nursing. ConsultGeriRN is endorsed by several organizations, including National Gerontological Nursing Association (NGNA), the American Association for Long Term Care Nursing (AALTCN),  and The National Association of Directors of Nursing Administration in Long Term Care (NADONA). Practice guidelines, assessment tools, a Best Practices series from NYU College of Nursing called "Try This", recommended competencies,  continuing education resources, and links to nursing organizations are some of the materials available here to supplement learning and practice. Free registration required for CE activities.
Keywords: , , , ,

Contemporary Authors (TexShare)

Provider: Gale
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: A bio-bibliographical guide that covers more than 124,000 current writers in a wide range of media, including: current writers of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, and drama; prominent print and broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, screenwriters, television scriptwriters, and other media people; authors who write in languages other than English, provided their works have been published in the United States or translated into English; and literary greats of the early twentieth century whose works are popular in today's high school and college curricula and continue to elicit critical attention.
Keywords: , , , , ,

Counseling & Therapy

Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is an online collection of more than 350 videos invaluable for studying counseling in the psychotherapy, psychology, psychiatric and social work settings. Footage of real and demonstration sessions, designed to illustrate issues and scenarios that commonly arise in the therapeutic setting, can be viewed in conjunction with their transcripts. Text is highlighted as it is spoken. Some units provide a theoretical context through narration or other structural elements. Additional videos feature consultations (specialists advising other therapists) lectures, interviews, teaching guides. Some can be viewed for CE credit. Using this collection, it is possible to compare the application in practice of various therapeutic theories to a single problem. Semantic indexing and multiple access approaches to the materials that are available, such as thumbnails, enhance the user's search and browse results. This collection received a database award from Library Journal as Best Niche Product for 2011.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , ,

Current Protocols

Provider: John Wiley & Sons
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Users have access to the following laboratory protocols via the TMC Library:


Keywords: , , , , , ,

Diagnosaurus

Provider: McGraw-Hill
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is a differential diagnosis tool within AccessMedicine. Drawing on the texts from the main database, it draws in material on over a thousand diseases and disorders to assist the student or physician in formulating correct diagnoses.
Keywords: , , ,

Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center

Provider: The TMC Library
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Digital Commons@The Texas Medical Center is the institutional repository of works produced by TMC faculty, researchers and students. This open-access digital library contains preprints, postprints, data sets, conference proceedings, working papers, teaching materials, dissertations and more. In cases where full text is not immediately available, the expected release date is noted below the record's download icon.
Keywords: , ,

DPDx – Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Sections of this CDC resource, developed and maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM), include: Parasites and Parasitic Diseases/Parasites and Health; Diagnostic Procedures; Diagnostic Assistance; a section on training materials and announcements; and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals. Most images and material are in the public domain; to re-use, simply cite the source. A few images do require permissions to re-publish. Researchers may also contribute images to the database by contacting the DPDx team- see About DPDx for information. Includes instructions for specimen collection and shipping to CDC, under Diagnostic Procedures.
Keywords: , , , , ,

DrugBank: Open Data Drug & Drug Target Database

Provider: David Wishart/University of Alberta, CA
Contents: ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: A bio- and chemical informatics resource that combines detailed drug (chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug targeting (sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries, including FDA-approved small molecule drugs, FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, "nutraceuticals" and experimental drugs. Contains more than 6,800 drug entries with almost 4,300 non-redundant protein sequences linked. Each entry, or  DrugCard, contains more than 80 data fields, half of which are devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half to drug target/protein data. Downloads and information on rights, acknowledgement and usage are available here.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , ,