The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 46 to 60 of 175 databases. (View all)





DPDx – Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern

Provider: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Sections of this CDC resource, developed and maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM), include: Parasites and Parasitic Diseases/Parasites and Health; Diagnostic Procedures; Diagnostic Assistance; a section on training materials and announcements; and the Parasite Image Library. Includes information of interest to consumers as well as health professionals. Most images and material are in the public domain; to re-use, simply cite the source. A few images do require permissions to re-publish. Researchers may also contribute images to the database by contacting the DPDx team- see About DPDx for information. Includes instructions for specimen collection and shipping to CDC, under Diagnostic Procedures.
Keywords: , , , , ,

DrugBank: Open Data Drug & Drug Target Database

Provider: David Wishart/University of Alberta, CA
Contents: ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: A bio- and chemical informatics resource that combines detailed drug (chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug targeting (sequence, structure, and pathway) information. The database contains nearly 4300 drug entries, including FDA-approved small molecule drugs, FDA-approved biotech (protein/peptide) drugs, "nutraceuticals" and experimental drugs. Contains more than 6,800 drug entries with almost 4,300 non-redundant protein sequences linked. Each entry, or  DrugCard, contains more than 80 data fields, half of which are devoted to drug/chemical data and the other half to drug target/protein data. Downloads and information on rights, acknowledgement and usage are available here.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment

Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This highly searchable database contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of "early encounters" with the humans, flora and fauna of North America, from approximately 1,400 explorers, missionaries and settlers new to the "New World." Many images of native peoples, plants and animals are also included.
Keywords: , ,

Early English Books Online

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: "Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War..." Historians of science and medicine may find useful material here.
Keywords: ,

Ebook Central

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: A collection of over 29,000 ebooks in multiple disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and life science, as well as over 80,000 Spanish ebooks from the elibro Premium collection. Link to a quick guide and a training video from the Ebook Central home page. For access to EBookCentral on mobile device, download Blue Fire reader for iOS and Android devices. Users will need to create a free Adobe ID and log into to BlueFire before downloading any ebook content.  For laptops use Adobe Digital Editions.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

EBook Collection – EBSCOHost (EBooks on EBSCOHost)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: An expanding collection with more than 100,000 titles in trade, reference, science, technology, medicine and literature. Some content is out of copyright, free with subscription; some is licensed by the Texas State Library for TexShare; and some is provided by the University of Texas at Austin.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Economia y Negocios (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: A collaboration between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), this bibliographic database provides information on research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English. More than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Active titles include Revista de la CEPAL, Revista de Administraçao, Estudios Empresariales, and Agroeconómico.
Keywords: , , , ,

Effective Health Care Program – AHRQ

Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Contents: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: First funded by Congress in 2005, the Effective Health Care Program funds and synthesizes the findings of teams of researchers and clinicians across North America, to identify ways to improve the quality of health care through evidence-based decision-making. Research summaries are available for consumers (many with Spanish translations), clinicians and policy-makers. Also for patients, short videos on treatment options, helpful comparative charts on the effectiveness of different treatments for various conditions. Many resources in various formats are provided. The Program invites comments and topic research/review suggestions, and data deposit by medical professionals. Links are provided to plug-ins for viewing video content.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , ,

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (TexShare)

Provider: Gale
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Digital images of over 13 million pages from more than 1,500 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, with images and maps included. A wide variety of subject matter is represented, from Fine Arts to Medicine. Titles from the British Library and many other university, private and public libraries worldwide.
Keywords: , , , , ,

EMBASE

Provider: Elsevier
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: EMBASE is a comprehensive index to peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. EMBASE indexes more than 2,700 journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes about 300,000 conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is an ideal resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information. Supported: IE8, 9 and 10; latest versions of Firefox, Safari and Chrome; Windows XP, Vista and 7, and latest OS X version.
Keywords: , , , , ,

Enhanced Business Search Interface (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: The Enhanced Business Search Interface is simply a unique interface of Business Source Complete that provides an easier browse and search of countries, companies and industries; results may then be used as limiters for a search.
Keywords: , , , ,

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO/Institute of Education Sciences
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the US Department of Education. It provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and other monographs. Dates of coverage: 1966 - present. Topics include: counseling and personnel services; education management; language and linguistics; science, mathematics, and environmental education; teacher education; and testing, measurement and evaluation instruments. Includes some full text. Non-academic users who would like to access ERIC may visit http://eric.ed.gov/ where the index and some full text are available free.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , ,

Essay and General Literature Index (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is part of a suite of literary databases EBSCO provides in partnership with H.W. Wilson. This database consists mainly of citation data-- many entries do not include abstracts.
Keywords: ,

Exam Master (USMLE)

Provider: Exam Master Corp.
Contents: ,
Descriptions: Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for: USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3; Medical Board Exams, including family practice, internal medicine, and surgery; several medical specialties, including anatomy, microbiology and physiology; and Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users must register at the Exam Master site after logging in to their library remote access accounts. Setting up a personal login with Exam Master allows users to create and save their exam questions to their own Exam Master accounts. To access your Exam Master account, log in to your HAM-TMC Library account first. In the database, follow the link that says, "Not registered yet?" if you are a new user. Please, use your institutional email address when signing up with Exam Master so we can authenticate you as a valid TMC Library user.
Keywords: , ,

EyeRounds.org

Provider: University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This University of Iowa site contains a wealth of resources for the student of ophthalmology. It includes tutorials, case reports, an atlas and a video atlas, an extensive section on competencies, and links to videos of many surgical procedures. The University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences has been ranked one of the top eye hospitals by U.S. News , and as one of the Best Overall, Best Clinical and Best Residency Programs by Ophthalmology Times.
Keywords: , ,