The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 61 to 75 of 174 databases. (View all)





Frontiers

Provider: Frontiers
Contents: , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Frontiers was launched in 2007 by scientists from the Swiss Federal Institute of  Technology in a grassroots initiative.  Frontiers is an open-access, scholarly, primarily scientific publisher, producing 26 community-driven journals with growing impact factors, and with more than 25,000 high-impact researchers on its editorial boards. Frontiers is notable for a democratic system of peer review, the details of which can be examined under the "About" section. Authors with accepted articles who demonstrably cannot bear the cost of publication can apply to the Frontiers Research Foundation for a grant to waive some or all author fees. Waivers are dependent on the World Bank economic status of the author's country. Many video lectures are posted in a keyword-searchable, subject-browse interface. Read abstracts of about 180 downloadable e-books, which can be purchased for a negligible fee. The Frontiers Community part of the site is home to an image bank, an international conference/events schedule, a blogging platform with numerous active blogs, and a jobs board. Authors, editors and reviewers come from prestigious institutions worldwide, many of them from the Texas Medical Center. To participate in the networking components, Frontiers Research Network and Frontiers Community, complete the free online registration form. Maintain contact and receive alerts via almost any social networking tool or via RSS feed. Many TMC researchers participate.
Keywords: , , , , , , ,

Fuente Academica (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: A full-text collection of mostly scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, covering the fields of business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text of about 260 scholarly Spanish-language journals.
Keywords: ,

Funk & Wagnall’s New Encyclopedia (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Updated annually, this very basic resource contains about 25,000 records, briefly covering general topics and biographies, some with images. A good starting point for young users' assignments.
Keywords: , , ,

Gale Literary Sources (TexShare)

Provider: Gale
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This resource contains the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Essays outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Each DLB entry contains personal information- birth/death dates, nationality/ethnicity, principal genres, awards, family history, and in some cases an author portrait- a list of the author's principal works, further readings about the author, a list of additional writings, published interviews, biographies, and a bibliography of writings about the author.
Keywords: , , , , , ,

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provider: Gale/UT System Digital Library
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Gale Virtual Reference Library offers access to a wide spectrum of disciplines in multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference books, each focusing on an aspect of arts and humanities, medicine, social and "hard" sciences. These are over 3,400 works published by Gale and other well-known publishers, such as Wiley, Cambridge University Press and MacMillan. A Merriam-Webster dictionary is also provided.
Keywords: ,

Gene Ontology

Provider: Gene Ontology Project
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: "The Gene Ontology project is a major bioinformatics initiative with the aim of standardizing the representation of gene and gene product attributes across species and databases. The project provides a controlled vocabulary of terms for describing gene product characteristics and gene product annotation data from GO Consortium members, as well as tools to access and process this data."  The Ontologies describe three aspects of molecular biology- biological processes, cellular components, and molecular functions. Gene Ontology's collected tools list includes hundreds from all over the world: specialized browsers, search engines, statistical analysis and visualization tools, and many other kinds. This project began as a collaboration between three model organism databases, FlyBase (Drosophila), the Saccharomyces Genome Database  and the Mouse Genome Database  in 1998. Since then, the GO Consortium has grown to include many other databases, including several of the world's major repositories for plant, animal and microbial genomes. See the GO Consortium page for a full list of member organizations.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) – Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)

Provider: Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: GHDx is a catalog of the world's health and demographic data. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. The provider, the IHME, is an educational and research public health organization, and provides fellowships at the bachelor's and graduate levels. IHME publishes the BioMed Central journal, Population Health Metrics, and various open-access reports. There are many interesting resources here. Users should visit the Data Visualizations page and see other items listed under the "Tools" tab.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Gold Book (IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology)

Provider: IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry)
Contents: , , , ,
Descriptions: One of a series of Colour Books for chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units. Search the Compendium by text or structure, use an alphabetical index, ring index, math/physics terms index, and more. Interactive graphics (link maps) show how term entries are interrelated and allow navigation through a complex web of connections. References to the literature are included, and are also links. "In the most recent version, the Gold Book is accompanied by a suite of software tools that enable the users to simply add links to the Gold Book to their online materials, especially HTML. These tools are based on tools that are used internally in production of the Gold Book. The software tools are placed separately onSourceForge which allows for easier collaboration on the software."
Keywords: , , ,

Google Scholar

Provider: Google.com
Contents: , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Sources of information in many diverse disciplines are retrievable with Google Scholar. A search can return citations to articles, theses, books, patents, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and the Web itself. Scholar ranks your search results according to the full text of each document, its place of publication, its author, and the frequency/currency of its citation by others. Choose this link if you are registered with The TMC Library as an Academic (Educational) user, to access available full text by clicking the "Find It" button. Even with an individual, independent Google Scholar registration one can set persistent preferences, among them the convenient option to display The TMC Library's holdings at title level (and/or those of other libraries.) In either case, the "Advanced Scholar Search" page allows restriction of your search results to a particular date range, subject area, author or journal. This link is the one to choose if you are not a registered TMC Library E-Resources user and if you are not a member of a TMC academic institution.
Keywords: , , ,

GoPubMed

Provider: Transinsight
Contents: , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: GoPubMed is an innovative, powerful search tool that combines the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and GO (Gene Ontology) terminologies to optimize the effectiveness of queries to PubMed- for everyone, but for molecular biologists in particular. Searching elicits results presented very quickly (maximum display: the most recent 1,000 citations), along with a sidebar presenting the full results in categorized, hierarchical groups of terms that help the user to focus in further- the producers of this search engine refer to it as a "knowledge-based semantic search." There are many more features to this search tool than can be described here.
Keywords: , , , , , , ,

GreenFILE (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: GreenFILE contains records covering the human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green buildings, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Indexing and abstracts of more than 538,000 records, and full text of approximately 5,800 open-access publications.
Keywords: , , , , , ,

HarpWeek (Harper’s Weekly)

Provider: HarpWeek/John Adler
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Full text of the whole run of Harper's Weekly, a leading 19th-century American illustrated newspaper, from 1857-1912. The fulll text is searchable, or use the categorized Finding Aids to access content of interest.
Keywords: , , , , ,

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Provider: Ovid
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: HAPI provides access to information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projecting techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psycho-social sciences, organizational behavioral science and library and information science. Use HAPI to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers and projects, theses and dissertations, and program evaluation. For a brief guide to searching any Ovid database, access the full list of available databases by clicking "Change Databases," and click the "i" (information) logo next to its title.
Keywords: , , , ,

Health Reference Center Academic (TexShare)

Provider: Gale
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources, including newspapers and multimedia. More than 21,000 publications are represented. Includes resources suitable for students, consumers and health professionals.
Keywords: , , , , ,

Health Source – Consumer Edition (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Provides information on many health topics: medical sciences, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care pamphlets, books and reports. Also included is drug information from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
Keywords: , , , ,