The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 76 to 90 of 174 databases. (View all)





Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on various medical disciplines and features abstracts and indexing for 850 journals, with coverage of nursing and allied health being particularly strong, including full text from many nursing journals. Lexi-PAL Drug Guide is also indexed, which provides 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names covered. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Keywords: , , ,

HeritageQuest Online

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , , , , ,
Descriptions: This database contains thousands of digitized books, the available digitized US Federal Census record from 1790-1940, PERSI (Periodical Source Index Archive), Freedman's Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other expanding collections invaluable to genealogists.
Keywords: , , ,

HighWire Press: Free Online Full-Text Articles

Provider: HighWire Press and Publishers
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: HighWire Press is the online platform provider to a number of publishers of peer-reviewed scientific journals. By its own report, as of October 2013, HighWire assists in the online publication of 2,269,483 free full-text articles and 7,131,685 total articles. There are 36 sites with free trial periods, 84 completely free sites and 278 sites with free back issues. Click this record's title link to see the list of journals showing specific date ranges of open-access content available in each. Embargo periods vary.
Keywords: , , ,

Historical New York Times

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: The New York Times, 1851-2009.
Keywords: , , , , ,

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is an illustrated resource for all ages, with instructive information on hobbies from astronomy to collecting antiques, and on crafts from needlework to wreath-making.
Keywords: , ,

IEEE Xplore (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)

Provider: IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: IEEE Xplore contains full-text access to the technical literature of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes full text documents from IEEE's journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications from 1988, with select content going back to 1952. The content comprises more than: 160 journals, 1,200 conference proceedings, 3,800 technical standards, 1,000 eBooks and 300 educational courses. Updated monthly.
Keywords: , , , ,

IMAIOS: e-Anatomy, e-Cases, e-Courses

Provider: IMAIOS
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This French company provides very good interactive online anatomy and imaging modules and case examples, some of which are freely available. Notably, a multi-unit online course on MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) physics is fully open-access. Intended for radiology residents, radiologists, MRI techs, medical physicists and students, its content includes interactive animations, experiments and quizzes designed to add fun while learning MRI physics. For individuals, a modest annual subscription fee affords full access to all materials. Mobile and iPad applications are available.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , ,

Incites Journal Citation Reports (JCR) and Essential Science Indicators (ESI)

Provider: Thomson-Reuters
Contents: ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Journal Citation Reports (JCR) has a new look! The JCR module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.  In addition to finding the most frequently cited and highest impact journals, JCR on InCites enables you to:

  • Compare multiple subject areas or compare multiple journals
  • Use the visualization to see strength of citation relationships
  • Run analyses across editions (Science and Social Sciences) and across years
The InCites platform includes access to Essential Science Indicators (ESI). ESI can determine the influential individuals, institutions, papers, publications, and countries in their field of study — as well as emerging research areas that could impact their work. This compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases. Users can access both JCR and ESI on the same InCites platform.    
Keywords: , ,

Index – Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office. US Army.

Provider: National Library of Medicine
Contents: , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Multi-part, searchable bibliography, or list, of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, US Army; contains material dated from the 1400's through 1950, covering the history of medicine, history of science, and clinical research. The Index-Catalogue contains records for journal articles, books, dissertations, pamphlets, and reports.

Index to Chiropractic Literature

Provider: International Chiropractors' Association
Contents: , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Produced by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) the Index to Chiropractic Literature provides cover-to-cover indexing of peer-reviewed literature from chiropractic publishers (see Journals Indexed.) A small number of non-peer-reviewed chiropractic publications are also selectively indexed. The ICL website also includes links to other chiropractic resources- American and international organizations, libraries, colleges, chiropractic clinical practice guidelines, and the Chiropractic Subject Headings.
Keywords: ,

Information Science and Technology Abstracts (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This database indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications as well as books, research reports, conference proceedings and patents. Coverage extends back to the mid-1960s. It covers cataloging and classification, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more.
Keywords: , , ,

JAMAevidence

Provider: McGraw-Hill
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: JAMA Evidence JAMAevidence provides fundamental tools for teaching, learning, and applying evidence-based medicine in the assessment of health problems and outcomes of health care. Users will find leading references that explain basic principles to turn theory into practice, customizable worksheets that allow them to systematically apply evidence-based medicine to their cases, and PowerPoint slideshows to enhance classroom and conference learning.
Keywords: , ,

Journal Citation Reports, JCR (now InCites™ Journal Citation Reports)

Provider: Thomson Reuters
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: The Journal Citation Reports and the idea of impact factor were innovations of Eugene Garfield in the 1970's, and came to be considered the single impartial, authoritative measure of a scholarly journal's quality and influence within its discipline. Several alternative systems of journal evaluation have since been introduced, aiming to correct inherent biases of this nevertheless very influential and relevant analysis system.
Keywords: , , , ,

Journals@ OVID Full Text

Provider: Ovid
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is an index and collection of Ovid full-text journal literature. Full text is directly available for journals subscribed to by the Library. Some citation coverage is included, dating to 1830. Full text date ranges vary. An important source for core nursing and allied health literature. Includes journals published by Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW.)
Keywords: , ,

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

Provider: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Journal of Visualized Experiments The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer-reviewed scientific video journal that advances research and science education by making and publishing videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe.  Started in 2006, JoVE has produced over 5,500 videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories at top research institutions. There are 13 sub-discipline sections available in JoVE, and each video is accompanied by a peer-reviewed article.  TMC Library users who are interested in publishing with JoVE can learn more here. The TMC Library subscribes to the full collection of JoVE video sections, as shown below: Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Cancer Research, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environment, Genetics, Immunology and Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience Click on a title to go directly to the subject discipline of your choice.  
Keywords: , , , ,