The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 106 to 120 of 174 databases. (View all)





Medscape Reference

Provider: WebMD LLC
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This is one component of the Medscape site, and the only section not requiring a (free) registration to view. Medscape Reference contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures and anatomy. It contains practice guidelines and a physician finder tool (Health Directory.) It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria and more, arranged by medical specialty. The clinical information here is contributed by top physicians and pharmacists from leading academic medical centers in the United States and worldwide. Baylor College of Medicine is an academic partner of Medscape, along with several other distinguished medical schools and institutions. With free registration completed, all Medscape sections can be used, and with all major mobile devices. Registration also affords access to an extensive CME section.  
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , ,
Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, MMY/TIP is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains complete information and reviews on all English-language standardized tests of educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology. Contains information essential to the evaluation and procurement of tests: publisher contact information and pricing, intended population, elements scored, and time required to administer. Mobile access to Mental Measurements Yearbook is available here. In addition, spoken entries are now available for download as mp3 files. This database is combined with Tests in Print. The two are searched on their own via this link, and are also set to be searched by default in tandem with the CINAHL database.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals

Provider: Merck
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: The content of The Merck Manuals is made available free, in enhanced online versions. The Merck Manual Online is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, images, and audio and video material not included in the print versions. This is a standard medical text with very comprehensive information. Browse the Manual by medical specialty or symptoms, or use the index. Contains clinical calculators, conversion tables, a table of drug trade and generic names, normal laboratory values, useful links to other sites, and a glossary of the abbreviations used in the Manual. Mobile version must be purchased.
Keywords: , , , ,

Merck Manual Home Health Handbook for Patients and Caregivers

Provider: Merck
Contents: , , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This manual is a valuable medical resource for the layman, explaining medical conditions from every aspect, with introductions giving background information on the biology of body systems and organs, and providing supporting anatomical and 3-D visual aids. Causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment are defined. The Drugs section, with information on pharmacokinetics, drug interaction and adverse reactions, herbal supplements and over-the-counter drugs. The Special Subjects area contains information on medical decision-making, limb prosthetics, common imaging tests, travel health, women's health, alternative and complementary medicines, and more.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

MerckMedicus

Provider: Merck
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: From the mission statement: "MerckMedicus is an advertising-free medical portal designed specifically for U.S. healthcare providers. MerckMedicus provides breaking medical news, a wide variety of scientific learning resources, and cutting-edge diagnostic tools...  Merck launched MerckMedicus in 2001 as part of its century-long commitment to providing unbiased health information as a public service to consumers and health care professionals..." Free registration is required for access to the resources provided here, which include: full text content from books and journals (Springer journals, recent JAMA articles, and "latest updates" from The Lancet), patient handouts, news, a PDR drug database, an image/media library, and audio files.
Keywords: , ,

Micromedex

Provider: Truven Health Analytics
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Micromedex is a quick and in-depth source of information on drugs, toxins and natural/herbal products. Each component of Micromedex addresses a broad subject area: medication safety, disease management and treatment (both general and emergency medicine), patient education, toxicology, laboratory tests. Each broad category is fed by a cluster of relevant databases. Each category is accessible in tabs on every page, and affords the user a drop-down choice to narrow a search to a specific database, or a specific topic. Drug interaction information, various calculator tools, a neonatal drug resource (NeoFax), a database of international drug information (Index Nominum), MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and more additional resources are included. Please Note: Micromedex is licensed to us for academic and training use only. Application of this subscription to affect outcomes in any actual clinical setting, whether a laboratory or a care facility, is strictly prohibited by the terms of our license. Please comply with this restriction. NOTE: Micromedex may lag with being up to date with new browser versions. Try the Chrome or Safari browsers if you have trouble with IE or Firefox after a new release, or run in compatibility mode.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Middle Search Plus

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Also contains primary source documents (Essential Documents in American History), reference books (Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary), the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Keywords: , , ,

Military and Government Collection (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 academic journals and other periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. The series, Background Notes on Countries of the World is here in full text, from 2004-2011. Congressional Digest and CQ Weekly Report are indexed here, but without full text.
Keywords: , ,

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Provider: U.S. Department of Justice
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: Contains summaries of over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. NCJRS resources are available to the general public.
Keywords: , , , , , , ,

National Guideline Clearinghouse

Provider: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, updated weekly. User-friendly features of the site include: summaries available for download to hand-held devices; a guideline comparison utility for the end user; guideline syntheses prepared by NGC staff; an expert commentary feature from the editorial board; and an annotated bibliography of resources about guidelines- their development, methodology, structure, evaluation and implementation.
Keywords: , ,

National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety (NIOSH)

Provider: National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety (NIOSH)/CDC
Contents: , , , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: The NIOSH site is primarily a source of statistics and data gathered from the agency's research and surveillance on workplace safety and hazardous exposure. Under Other Data Resources are data on investigations, hazards, safety products, metrics and tests. The Publications area has many useful reports with links to authoritative outside  sources. A downloadable Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards and a downloadable NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods are also under Publications. From this site, the user can also link to the search box for NIOSHTIC-2,  a bibliographic database of approximately 51,000 articles, grant reports and other documents, the research for which was supported, wholly or in part, by NIOSH.
Keywords: , , ,

Natural & Alternative Treatments (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This database currently contains approximately 300 articles on Herbs and Supplements, 200 articles on Conditions, 90 articles on Drug Interaction, 40 articles on homeopathy, and 40 articles on alternative medicine. Answers questions on efficacy, dosage, interactions, and risk/benefit, and cites studies and trials, supplying information about their reliability (evidence-based.) Clicking on a condition in a substance's record links the user to articles on other substances used to treat that condition. Entries include Spanish translations and all have references.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , ,

NCMIR – National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research

Provider: National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research/University of California San Diego
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: NCMIR develops technologies to facilitate understanding of biological systems from the gross anatomical to the molecular scale and makes those technologies available to biomedical researchers. NCMIR provides expertise, infrastructure, technological development, and an environment in which new information about the 3D ultrastructure of tissues, cells, and macromolecular complexes can be easily obtained and analyzed.
Keywords: , , , , , , ,

New England Journal of Medicine

Provider: Massachusetts Medical Society
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Even for the layman, New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) needs no introduction, as this general medical journal's articles and their authors are often referenced or quoted in the news media. Full-text access is to the full range of issues, from the journal's inception in 1812 (as the New England Journal of Medicine and Surgery) to the present. Browse, search, or search for articles within a clinical specialty. Access to the years 1812-1989 was purchased in 2011 thanks to the support of the Brown Foundation, the John P. McGovern Foundation and Friends of The TMC Library.  
Keywords: ,

Newspaper Source (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Newspaper Source covers a number of major national (US) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (UK), Toronto Star, etc. Coverage varies widely for well-known newspapers; for instance, the New York Times and Wall Street Journal submit only bibliographic records, and for some papers with full text, there are embargoes ranging from one month to years. This database also contains selected full text for a great many regional American newspapers: Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Miami Herald, New York Daily News, and many lesser-known titles. Full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS, FOX, NPR and other sources. Audio files of the transcripts are included as well.
Keywords: , ,