The TMC Library - Health Sciences Resource Center Logo

New Databases at The TMC Library:

CK logo
Clinical Key is a comprehensive e-library by ElsevierScience; providing access to ebooks, journals, clinics, procedures and multimedia, either at your desktop, or mobile device.


Showing 121 to 135 of 174 databases. (View all)





NICE Pathways

Provider: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (UK)
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This online tool from the UK's National Institute for Health and Care Excellence gives fast, easy access by topic to the full range of guidance from NICE, including quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical and public health guidance and implementation tools.
Keywords: , , , , ,

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: A collection of personal narratives, including autobiographies and pamphlets, from more than 2,000 authors, providing insight on the immigrant experience in the U.S.A. and Canada during the period between 1840 and 1950.
Keywords: , , ,

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

Provider: Alexander Street Press
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Diaries, journals and letters written by women residents and visitors to North America between 1700 and 1950; includes the personal experiences of more than 1,300 women from all walks of life and classes in society.
Keywords: , , , ,

Nursing and Allied Health Source – ProQuest

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: This mostly full-text database containing full text or indexing for about 850 journals provides scholarly articles, dissertations, training videos, cultural awareness materials, evidence-based practice content and more, supporting students of nursing and the allied health professions, including physical therapy, occupational therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene and the clinical laboratory sciences. Features include "Study Paths" (resource collections for RN or LPN students-- reach these via the Browse button); MMWR reports on public health statistics and issues; and practice guidelines.
Keywords: , , , , , , , ,

Nursing Reference Center

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: A comprehensive point-of-care resource for nursing, Nursing Reference Center draws in part from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses; AHFS Drug Information Essentials; Diseases and Disorders: a Nursing Therapeutics Manual; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary; and Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications. Nursing Reference Center includes "Quick Lessons" and "Evidence-based Care Sheets" on diseases and disorders; practice guidelines; patient education sheets, some available in Spanish; CE units; news; research instruments; and information on legal cases. Nursing Reference Center provides direct access to full text articles found in CINAHL. First-time users are encouraged to "take the tour" on the database's home page (FlashPlayer required) to learn more.
Keywords: , , , ,

OMIM – Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

Provider: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources. Registration required for ftp downloading on the part of nonprofit entities; commercial use/use by a commercial entity requires a license.
Keywords: , , ,

OMMBID (Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease)

Provider: McGraw-Hill
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Scriver’s OMMBID,updated several times a year, provides online access to the leading genetic information from renowned international experts. The site now features a researchers' blog, podcasts, the ability to limit searches to images and tables, creation of personal storage and bookmarking.
Keywords: , ,

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

Provider: OATD.org
Contents: , ,
Access Level: , , ,
Descriptions: OATD.org is an excellent resource for finding open-access dissertations and theses. Information is harvested from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions worldwide. OATD currently indexes approaching 3.5 million theses and dissertations.  (Note: Look for "Texas Medical Center" as publisher to find TMC dissertations.)
Keywords: ,

Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations

Provider: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Contents: , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: The Orange Book provides updated information on prescription, over-the-counter and discontinued FDA-approved drug products. It can be searched and consulted online, or the annual edition and monthly cumulative supplements can be downloaded in .pdf format. The Electronic Orange Book provides daily updates of new generic drug approvals. Search by active ingredient, proprietary name, patent, application number or application holder. If a newly-approved drug product is not turned up in the search, use the search box at top right of the page to find results from the Orange Book's monthly supplements and other FDA sources.
Keywords: , , , , , ,

Ovid Medline

Provider: Ovid
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: See Medline (Ovid) in this list for full description, or continue to Ovid Medline.

PAIS International

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS) selectively indexes journals, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International covers publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. Indexed materials are published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Includes access to the PAIS Archive. The user can filter results for peer-reviewed material, and can search for figures and tables.
Keywords: , , , , , , ,

PDR.net

Provider: PDR Network, LLC
Contents: , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: This online version of the Physician's Desk Reference offers concise drug summary monographs and FDA Drug Communications of warnings, recalls, and approvals. A free mobile version for medical professionals can be downloaded for Android, iPhone, iPod and other devices.
Keywords: , , ,

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: PAO contains scanned archival access to more than 500 journals in the social sciences and humanities, affording the user historical access to some of the most respected journals published in these areas. Some earlier material is covered, but most content is from the 19th and 20th centuries. Most coverage ends with the year 2000.
Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

PQDT Open

Provider: ProQuest
Contents: , , ,
Access Level: ,
Descriptions: ProQuest provides the service of a searchable repository of freely available full-text dissertations and theses here. These are documents the authors have decided to publish under the Open Access model. Covers many disciplines.
Keywords: , , ,

Professional Development Collection (TexShare)

Provider: EBSCO
Contents: , , , , , , , , ,
Access Level: , ,
Descriptions: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 550 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 other titles that include reports and conference proceedings. In addition to the full text content, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Titles offered include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, and School Library Journal.
Keywords: