Students: Get your flu shot at the library!
Wednesday, September 12th, 2018 at
There will be a flu shot clinic at the TMC Library on Wednesday September 19th, from 2:30 PM to 3:30 PM. Flu shots are first come first serve and administered by Walgreens pharmacy staff. For the flu shot to be covered by your health insurance, you need to complete this attached form and send it […]
Labor Day Holiday Hours
Thursday, August 30th, 2018 at
The TMC Library will be closed Monday, September 3 in observance of Labor Day. Regular hours resume Tuesday, September 4.
A notice regarding our new authentication system, Open Athens
Friday, August 17th, 2018 at
Dear TMC Library users, Recently, the Library changed its method for accessing electronic resources to a new product, OpenAthens. While the transition has been bumpier than any of us would like, we appreciate your thoughtful feedback and patience. We chose the Open Athens product because it offered several new features, particularly Single Sign […]
Independence Day 2018
Tuesday, July 3rd, 2018 at
The TMC Library will be closed on Wednesday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day.
From the Library Director
Wednesday, May 2nd, 2018 at
To all our Library Users: During the past several months, TMC Library staff members have been planning and preparing for our transition from EZ Proxy to Open Athens as our authentication system for electronic resources. We have done extensive testing in a test environment. Unfortunately, due to the nature of electronic resources, we were not […]
Library Hours: April 6 & 7
Thursday, April 5th, 2018 at
The TMC Library will close at noon this Friday, April 6 and remain closed on Saturday, April 7. Regular hours will resume on Sunday, April 8.
Easter 2018 – Library Closed
Tuesday, March 27th, 2018 at
The library will be closed on April 1, 2018 for Easter Sunday. Normal hours resume on April 2, 2018.
Provider: Gale Contents: bibliographies, full text, general reference Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: Provides significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers. A strong emphasis is placed on including criticism of works by established authors who frequently appear on the syllabi of high school and college literature courses. Each entry contains: a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance; critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals; and, where available, interviews with featured authors. A complete bibliographical citation prefaces each critical essay and most essays are introduced by a brief annotation that establishes a context and purpose for the criticism. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading. Keywords: culture, humanities, literary criticism, literature, students
Provider: EBSCO Contents: encyclopedia, full text, general reference, images, maps Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: Contains full text for more than 500 popular magazines, including The Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Science News, and Scientific American. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is available for biographies and primary source documents. Also included are pamphlets, reference books , an image collection, maps, and expanded full-text backfiles (to 1975) for key magazines. Keywords: biographies, homework, kids, multidisciplinary
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps and flags.
Provider: EBSCO Contents: Abstracts, full text, index Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: Spanish-language collection of medical research and investigative medicine journals, providing full text of peer-reviewed medical journals. A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Publications covered in this database include Revista Medica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patologia Clinica, Boletin Medico del Hospital Infantil de Mexico, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomedica, Veterinaria Mexico, and Salud Publica de Mexico. Keywords: medical specialties, medicine, spanish
Provider: Ovid Contents: Abstracts, Citations, links to full text Access Level: Licensed, On-Site Visitor, TMC Academic User Descriptions: The unique features of Ovid's interface to the Medline database make it the preferred version of many researchers, particularly when researching for systematic reviews. Click "Change" next to "Resource selected" to limit your search to a desired subset or subsets of Medline, and make use of unique limiters and standard Ovid database features.
Provides citations and abstracts from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. This version of Medline is restricted to The TMC Library's academic users. Keywords: allied health, biology, dentistry, life sciences, medicine, nursing, pharmacology
Provider: EBSCO Contents: index, links, links to full text Descriptions: EBSCO's interface to MedLine. Not the most recommended version to use, as the links in EBSCO databases do not resolve to full text as reliably as in other MedLine interfaces, due to the aggregator's proprietary indexing conventions.
Provider: National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine Contents: Dictionary, full text, images, index, mobile access, patient education, video Access Level: Free, Open Access Descriptions: MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's website for the layman, offering free and authoritative current health and medical information. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it provides information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues in everyday language.
Use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on drugs (by generic or brand name) and supplements, learn the meanings of medical terms, or view medical videos and illustrations. Includes links to the latest medical research on numerous topics and information on clinical trials, and interactive tutorials on diseases, diagnostic tests, preventive medicine and surgeries. Also available here are anatomy videos in English and Spanish, from the A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia and other sources.
QuickTime player is required for some videos.
Mobile Access: All MedlinePlus content is now available in both English and Spanish versions, at http://m.medlineplus.gov and http://m.medlineplus.gov/espanol . Keywords: anatomy, consumer health, dietary supplements, diseases, drugs, herbs, non-prescription drugs
Provider: WebMD LLC Contents: CME, drug monographs, full text, images, partial full text, practice guidelines Access Level: Free, Open Access, Partially Open Descriptions: This is one component of the Medscape site, and the only section not requiring a (free) registration to view. Medscape Reference contains comprehensive information on drugs and herbals, drug interactions, diseases and conditions, medical procedures and anatomy. It contains practice guidelines and a physician finder tool (Health Directory.) It also offers dozens of calculators pertaining to tests, diagnostic criteria and more, arranged by medical specialty. The clinical information here is contributed by top physicians and pharmacists from leading academic medical centers in the United States and worldwide. Baylor College of Medicine is an academic partner of Medscape, along with several other distinguished medical schools and institutions.
With free registration completed, all Medscape sections can be used, and with all major mobile devices. Registration also affords access to an extensive CME section. Keywords: Baylor College of Medicine, clinical medicine, drug interactions, drugs, indications/contraindications, medical procedures, pharmacists, physicians, point-of-care
Provider: EBSCO Contents: audio files, brief records, index Descriptions: Produced by the Buros Institute, MMY/TIP is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains complete information and reviews on all English-language standardized tests of educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology. Contains information essential to the evaluation and procurement of tests: publisher contact information and pricing, intended population, elements scored, and time required to administer. Mobile access to Mental Measurements Yearbook is available here. In addition, spoken entries are now available for download as mp3 files. This database is combined with Tests in Print. The two are searched on their own via this link, and are also set to be searched by default in tandem with the CINAHL database. Keywords: aptitude, cognition, education, intelligence assessment, personality, psychological assessment, psychology, reviews, vocation
Provider: Merck Contents: audio files, handbook, images, index, links, mobile access, textbooks, video Access Level: Free, Open Access Descriptions: The content of The Merck Manuals is made available free, in enhanced online versions. The Merck Manual Online is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, images, and audio and video material not included in the print versions. This is a standard medical text with very comprehensive information. Browse the Manual by medical specialty or symptoms, or use the index. Contains clinical calculators, conversion tables, a table of drug trade and generic names, normal laboratory values, useful links to other sites, and a glossary of the abbreviations used in the Manual. Mobile version must be purchased. Keywords: clinical medicine, diagnosis, medical procedures, physicians, therapy