Ask Us


Accreditation And Governance

The TMC Library is a private, stand-alone and not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization independent from any one university or research institution. Unique to medical and research libraries across the country, it is the only library in the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries that reports to a separate governing board and draws its funding from several non-related academic, health and research institutions.

The Library is a distinctive consortium with authority vested in a Board of Directors comprised of appointed representatives from seven governing institutions of the TMC. An additional 13 supporting organizations are non-governing members of the Library.

The Library, as a free-standing member of the TMC, operates under bylaws and operating agreements to which the Governing Institutions are parties. The Board of Directors is the Library’s governing body and appoints and empowers the Executive Director with rights and responsibilities for the operations of the Library.

In addition, the Library is required for accreditation by the accrediting bodies which oversee the teaching curriculum of the educational institutions of the TMC.

Accrediting bodies are:

  • The Liaison Committee for Medical Education (LCME) of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the American Medical Association (AMA)
  • The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) for nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, optometry and allied health
  • The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)

Governing Organizations:

Baylor College of Medicine
Houston Academy of Medicine
Texas Medical Center
Texas Southern University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
University of Texas Health Science Center
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Supporting Institutions:

Houston Community College System
LifeGift Organ Donation Center
Memorial Hermann Hospital System (including TIRR)
Prairie View A&M University College of Nursing
Chi st. Luke’s Health – Baylor st. Luke’s Medical Center
Texas Children’s Hospital
Texas Heart Institute

Board of Directors

Arlo Weltge, MD, MPH, FACEP, Board Chair – Houston Academy of Medicine
Eric J. Solberg, MS, Vice Chair – UT Health Science Center at Houston
Clara Fowler, Secretary – UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Mr. Gregory Bernica – Houston Academy of Medicine
Patricia Butler, MD – University of Texas Medical School
Constance M. Johnson, PhD, – UT Health Cizik School of Nursing
Michael Fordis, Jr., MD – Baylor College of Medicine
Arthur (Tim) Garson, Jr., MD, MPH, MACC – Texas Medical Center
Mary Majumder, PhD – Baylor College of Medicine
Toi Blakely Harris, MD – Baylor College of Medicine
Rashid Mosavin, PhD – Texas Southern University
Carolyn L. Smith, PhD – Baylor College of Medicine

The TMC Library

Debbie Sibley, Executive Director